2019 WS - Nationals vs. Astros - Gamethread

semsox

Member
SoSH Member
Mar 14, 2004
1,521
Charlottesville
It's not ticky-tacky, it's wrong. Even to the letter of the rule, there was nothing wrong with that. Unbelievable that that will be able to stand.
 

Apisith

Member
SoSH Member
Oct 19, 2007
2,423
Bangkok
The call was correct as per the rule book but they never call that. This is the problem. You can’t change the way you make calls all year once you get to the postseason.
 

NJ_Sox_Fan

Member
SoSH Member
Jan 2, 2006
5,596
NJ
I cannot believe this was not at least reviewed. If I was a Nationals fan I’d have destroyed everything in my house already.
 

jayhoz

Ronald Bartel
Silver Supporter
SoSH Member
Jul 19, 2005
15,662
That is horrifically bad call right there. Just utterly ridiculous.
 

DennyDoyle'sBoil

Found no thrill on Blueberry Hill
SoSH Member
Sep 9, 2008
28,964
AZ
The call was correct as per the rule book but they never call that. This is the problem. You can’t change the way you make calls all year once you get to the postseason.
They always call it. Only question is timing right at the bag.
 

McBride11

Well-Known Member
Gold Supporter
SoSH Member
Jul 15, 2005
14,423
Charleston, SC
I was wrong - left hip contacted 1b. But his right leg is outside the line and his left foot is in the middle of the fucking bag
 

h8mfy

lurker
Jul 15, 2005
295
Orange County, CA
I always thought that the extra lane half way up was for the runner’s benefit in the event of a bunt, not an obligation to use when not doing so would inconvenience the fielder.
 
Last edited:

Tokyo Sox

Baka Gaijin
Lifetime Member
SoSH Member
Feb 16, 2006
4,498
There
there was a play in last year's playoffs, I honestly forget if it was vs Astros or Dodgers, but Vazquez throwing to 1st hit a runner who was entirely inside the baseline, and there was no call. I seemed to be the only one who cared. To call this one is horrible.
 

jon abbey

Shanghai Warrior
Dope
SoSH Member
Jul 15, 2005
49,786
The thing is if the runner is running inside the lane, as he clearly was the entire time except maybe the final step, it changes the ability to make a good throw, it cuts off the potential angle, which is why I don't agree with that Passan tweet above.
 

DennyDoyle'sBoil

Found no thrill on Blueberry Hill
SoSH Member
Sep 9, 2008
28,964
AZ
The last step has to be “exiting the lane.” The only question to me is whether he was already at the bag.
 

j44thor

Well-Known Member
Silver Supporter
SoSH Member
Aug 1, 2006
9,463
How else is a RHB supposed to run to 1st base? I'm legit confused as to how this is taking this long.