Did MLB’s first four base error happen today?

soxhop411

Member
SoSH Member
Dec 4, 2009
37,172
In today’s LAA/Texas game Nick Solak hit a fly ball to right field that should have been a regular ol can of corn catch. Until this happened.
View: https://twitter.com/MLBPipeline/status/1292564061477994496


A couple innings later the official scorer ruled it a 4 base error.
View: https://twitter.com/Evan_P_Grant/status/1292570778135863313

most home runs that are the result of errors (usually ITP home runs) are usually ruled a single + 3 base error. I do Not think I have ever seen a 4 base error.
 

Red(s)HawksFan

Well-Known Member
Silver Supporter
SoSH Member
Jan 23, 2009
12,882
Maine
How was this different from the ball that bounced off Canseco's head and over the fence back in 1993? That was officially ruled a HR though Canseco himself argued it should have been a 4-base error (it was as catchable a ball as this one). Seems the precedent is against the ruling made today.
 

soxhop411

Member
SoSH Member
Dec 4, 2009
37,172
How was this different from the ball that bounced off Canseco's head and over the fence back in 1993? That was officially ruled a HR though Canseco himself argued it should have been a 4-base error (it was as catchable a ball as this one). Seems the precedent is against the ruling made today.
Agreed. I also didn’t realize that official scorers could consult with Elias.
Cc @Brand Name
 

Brand Name

make hers mark
Staff member
Dope
Lifetime Member
SoSH Member
Oct 6, 2010
3,325
The Land of Thomas Cecil
Agreed. I also didn’t realize that official scorers could consult with Elias.
Cc @Brand Name

Okay, I need to run to Twitter after this. Found it!


Lolich, the Detroit pitcher, was the beneficiary! On a bunt to the opposing pitcher.
 

Over Guapo Grande

panty merchant
SoSH Member
Nov 29, 2005
2,016
Worcester
Okay, I need to run to Twitter after this. Found it!


Lolich, the Detroit pitcher, was the beneficiary! On a bunt to the opposing pitcher.
That's why you're the best.
 

OfTheCarmen

Cow Humper
SoSH Member
Jul 18, 2007
3,816
How was this different from the ball that bounced off Canseco's head and over the fence back in 1993? That was officially ruled a HR though Canseco himself argued it should have been a 4-base error (it was as catchable a ball as this one). Seems the precedent is against the ruling made today.
It’s different because Canseco never got his glove on the ball that hit him.
 

snowmanny

Member
SoSH Member
Dec 8, 2005
11,765
I sort of thought Butch Hobson once had one of these on an infield popup.

ED: can’t confirm Hobson but new Met Jason Bay scored on one committed by Hunter Pence 4/21/2011
 
Last edited:

Salem's Lot

Andy Moog! Andy God Damn Moog!
SoSH Member
Jul 15, 2005
7,911
Gallows Hill
So is that a home run and not a double because it was propelled out of play by the fielder in fair territory?

Hypothetically, if a ball hit the ground on the warning track a foot or two before the bullpen wall at Fenway, bounced up struck the right fielder off the chest and went into the bullpen, is that a double because it hit the ground, or a home run because it was propelled out directly by a fielder?
 

StupendousMan

Well-Known Member
Silver Supporter
SoSH Member
Jul 20, 2005
1,199
A bit of detail on Lolich's 4-base bunt, courtesy of an article by Sebastian Oslund.

Brinkman and Lolich made sure the lead didn’t last very long. Brinkman doubled to lead off the seventh. Lolich followed with a bunt that Hedlund fielded near third base. Hedlund, thinking he could get Brinkman at third, made a wild throw into left field instead. Brinkman scored as Lolich cruised into second. When left fielder Carl Taylor misplayed the ball, third base coach Joe Schultz waved Lolich all the way around. The hefty lefty scored. Thanks to a scene reminiscent of countless Little League games, the Tigers had a 2-1 lead.
And another description of the play from the account of the Detroit Free Press' May 7, 1971 edition, written by Jim Hawkins.

[... And when Eddie Brinkman started off the bottom of the seventh with a double, Lolich decided it was time he took matters into his own hands. Or something like that. Anyway, he bunted toward the third base side, hoping to move Brinkman into better scoring position. But Hedlund, who fielded the bunt, thought he still had a chance to nail Brinkman. So he whirled and threw in a hurry j ... right past the third base- ! man and into leftfield. ... Brinkman, of course, coasted across the plate with the tying run while Lolich was churning into second. Meanwhile, Taylor, the Royals' leftfielder, charged in for the ball, scooped for it ' and missed. Then he had to turn around, red face and all, and chase the ball all the way back to the wall while Lolich came chugging all the way home.
 
Last edited:

Max Power

thai good. you like shirt?
SoSH Member
Jul 20, 2005
4,385
Boston, MA
It seems like the Lolich play should be scored as SAC-E1-E7, so not a pure 4 base error even if the left fielder hadn't screwed up, too.

I can see how it's really hard to come all the way around on a single error. You'd think a second fielder would have a chance to make a play before someone rounded all the bases, even if it's Billy Hamilton.
 

scottyno

Member
SoSH Member
Dec 7, 2008
6,944
That's nothing, I had one of those in little league the same game I hit into an infield fly rule triple play because no one but the ump (and apparently the coach on the other team) even knew what the infield fly rule was or that our league even used it.
 

DJnVa

Dorito Dawg
SoSH Member
Dec 16, 2010
42,338
Unsure why the Lolich one wasn't 2 errors, but it is what it is, so the answer the question posted by thread title is NO.