Olympic Curling: Now With 150% of the Fun!

SumnerH

Malt Liquor Picker
Dope
Jul 18, 2005
25,901
Alexandria, VA
So because the US got the steal, I assume that means Sweden gets the hammer again? That will be 4 times in 5 ends that Sweden has had the hammer. I'm not sure I like the hammer rule. Seems to keep a team in it that isn't playing well, while keeping the door open for them to get a big end along the way, or maybe that's the point.
It's part of the strategy; it's also why a team with the hammer will often try for a blank end rather than scoring 1 point. Scoring 2 is worth losing the hammer, scoring 1 often isn't.

I like it. I also basically quit watching volleyball when they stopped using sideout scoring.
 

mjm3773

Well-Known Member
Lifetime Member
SoSH Member
Jan 8, 2004
309
So because the US got the steal, I assume that means Sweden gets the hammer again? That will be 4 times in 5 ends that Sweden has had the hammer. I'm not sure I like the hammer rule. Seems to keep a team in it that isn't playing well, while keeping the door open for them to get a big end along the way, or maybe that's the point.
That sort of is the point. Having hammer is the biggest advantage a team has. You don't want to give it up by only scoring one point unless you have to. That's why teams will intentionally blank an end instead of taking an easy one point.
 

swiftaw

Member
SoSH Member
Jan 31, 2009
1,966
So because the US got the steal, I assume that means Sweden gets the hammer again? That will be 4 times in 5 ends that Sweden has had the hammer. I'm not sure I like the hammer rule. Seems to keep a team in it that isn't playing well, while keeping the door open for them to get a big end along the way, or maybe that's the point.
yeah, but the team without the hammer could theoretically keep knocking the stones out of the house, leaving only the final stone to score, concede 1 and get the hammer back.
 

SumnerH

Malt Liquor Picker
Dope
Jul 18, 2005
25,901
Alexandria, VA
Yeah thats mostly the point.

Also, in our league, the team without the hammer in the 1st end picks the color.
That was the same here. From the rules PDF: “In post round robin games where the team delivering the first stone in the first end has been pre-determined, the team delivering the first stone of the first end has the choice of stone handle colour”.

EDIT: Read that wrong the first time.
 

mjm3773

Well-Known Member
Lifetime Member
SoSH Member
Jan 8, 2004
309

Deathofthebambino

Drive Carefully
SoSH Member
Apr 12, 2005
30,440
What happens if a sweeper accidentally kicks or makes contact with one of the other stones? I would trip over those fuckers all the time.
 

Deathofthebambino

Drive Carefully
SoSH Member
Apr 12, 2005
30,440
I don't understand that last throw by Shuster. Why didn't they come in from the other side, hit their own stone into the red and knock it out? It looked like a way easier shot.
 

Infield Infidel

teaching korea american
SoSH Member
Jul 15, 2005
11,463
Meeting Place, Canada
I don't understand that last throw by Shuster. Why didn't they come in from the other side, hit their own stone into the red and knock it out? It looked like a way easier shot.
I think if they successfully made the freeze, Sweden can't move US's shot stone, so US gets at least one. If they went from the other side, Sweden, with the hammer, can do the shot Schuster tried to do and get one.
 

Deathofthebambino

Drive Carefully
SoSH Member
Apr 12, 2005
30,440
I think if they successfully made the freeze, Sweden can't move US's shot stone, so US gets at least one. If they went from the other side, Sweden can do the shot Schuster tried to do with the hammer and get one.
They should have let Sweden get the one if they made that shot. They'd have the hammer back in a tie game. I think Shuster overthought that one.
 

Deathofthebambino

Drive Carefully
SoSH Member
Apr 12, 2005
30,440
Yes - it’s an automated system to determine if they foul when they release the stone.
What if they do foul?

And what if the sweepers kick another stone?

I'm curious about how the penalties work in this.

Bad throw by the Swede. The champ is cut.
 

Deathofthebambino

Drive Carefully
SoSH Member
Apr 12, 2005
30,440
I think saying the US having the hammer in a tie game, makes this 8th end like really fucking important, would be a severe understatement.
 

mjm3773

Well-Known Member
Lifetime Member
SoSH Member
Jan 8, 2004
309
What if they do foul?

And what if the sweepers kick another stone?

I'm curious about how the penalties work in this.

Bad throw by the Swede. The champ is cut.
If someone doesn't release the stone before the hog line, the stone immediately gets removed from play.

If a sweeper touches the thrown stone (with his/her broom, etc.) before the stone reaches the far hog line, it is considered "burned" and is immediately removed from play.

If the stone is burned after the far hog line, the opposing skip has three options: 1) Leave the rocks as they ended up after the burn; 2) Place the rocks as he/she thinks they would've ended up had the rock not been burned; or 3) Remove the rock from play and put the stones back as they were as if the rock was burned before the hog line.

Option 3 is considered against the "Spirit of Curling," which, like golf is considered an honest and gentlemanly (or ladylike) game. But earlier in the round-robin, Canadian Women's skip Rachel Homan removed a burned rock just like that. She received some flak for that and many felt Karma came back to bite her by Canada failing to make the playoffs.
 

Deathofthebambino

Drive Carefully
SoSH Member
Apr 12, 2005
30,440
I don't understand why they would waste a rock knocking that guard out of the way. That guard looks like it's so far away that it doesn't really block anything anyway.
 

SumnerH

Malt Liquor Picker
Dope
Jul 18, 2005
25,901
Alexandria, VA
What if they do foul?
The sweepers take the rock out of play before it reaches the other end. If they're slow on the draw, the non-offending team returns any stones that were moved to their original positions as best they can.

And what if the sweepers kick another stone?
This is more complicated; if it wasn't material to the other stones, the non-offending team puts it back where it was. If it would've been hit by other stones, the non-offending team can leave things as is, put them where they best estimate they would've been if it weren't touched, or remove the stone whose course would've been altered from play entirely and put everything else back where it was prior to the violation.
 

Infield Infidel

teaching korea american
SoSH Member
Jul 15, 2005
11,463
Meeting Place, Canada
What if they do foul?

And what if the sweepers kick another stone?

I'm curious about how the penalties work in this.

Bad throw by the Swede. The champ is cut.
For hogline fouls, the stone is disqualified and immediately removed. Usually the sweepers just stop it.

For touching stationary stones, the stone is placed to its original position, as long as it wasn't in/near the path of the moving stone.

If it was in/near the path of the moving stone, the non-offending team can remove the stone, place it to its original position, or place the stones where they would have ended up if they hit.

It's surprisingly easy to avoid stones when sweeping. I'm in my first season and I haven't kicked one while sweeping. I did heel kick one walking backwards to my position when I wasn't paying attention.