- Aug 25, 2009
Unbelievable run. Third place team in their group, then France/England in the quarters and semis. What an incredible performance.
Honestly, that's the thought I had 4 years ago. You could see the progress other sides were making then.Awesome run this year, but can't help but think how much harder the road will be 4 years from now.
The men's trophy is solid gold, so it can only be so big. The women's cup is gold-plated silver, and is taller than the men's one, but I'm guessing they didn't want a big size difference between the two.Never understood why FIFA hands out such a small trophy compared to other sports.
The Jules Rimet Trophy was also tiny (“it’s 12 inches, made of solid gold, and it means England are the world champions”) so it set a precedent.The men's trophy is solid gold, so it can only be so big. The women's cup is gold-plated silver, and is taller than the men's one, but I'm guessing they didn't want a big size difference between the two.
Pugh we turn our lonely eyes to yugh?Honestly, that's the thought I had 4 years ago. You could see the progress other sides were making then.
Winning this one in Europe, going through 4 European sides in the knockout rounds, is very impressive.
Mallory Pugh, it's up to you now.
They deleted it pretty fast, but not before they were sufficiently mocked.
Because of the contact with the player.Question on radio this morning---if the PK was given for "dangerous play" why wasn't the penalty an indirect free kick?
Not that I really care, I'll take it, but they were wondering.
Playing in a dangerous manner involves no physical contact between the players. If there is physical contact, the action becomes an offence punishable with a direct free kick or penalty kick. In the case of physical contact, the referee should carefully consider the high probability that misconduct has also been committed.
That doesn't matter. You can have an indirect in the box.It was in the box
Gotcha. The way these guys were talking is that if it's "dangerous manner" then by definition it's no physical contact, and no PK. But Fox said that's what was called. Maybe there was something lost in translation. Because the Fox folks were making a mishmash of the rules the whole tourney.Because of the contact with the player.
FIFA Laws of the Game - Law 12, Page 113 (https://www.fifa.com/mm/document/affederation/generic/81/42/36/lawsofthegame_2010_11_e.pdf)
The most common situation these days is when a keeper touches an intentional backpass with their hands - the penalty is indirect free kick at the point of contact, even if inside the box.Huh. I've never seen that.
I shouldn't answer futbol questions.